African Success - Back to the homepage RSS | TWITTER | VERSION FRANCAISE VERSION FRANCAISE    
Presentation Database of successful African personalities Honorary members Offshoot africans Shout Videos

Biography of Grace OGOT

Kenya > Literature : Grace OGOT

Born on 15/05/1930 (format : day/month/year)

Biography :

Grace Ogot born May 15, 1930, is a renowned  Kenyan author, of widely anthologized short stories and novels. One of the few well-known woman writers in Kenya, Ogot was the first woman to have fiction published by the East African Publishing House. Her stories—which appeared in European and African journals such as Black Orpheus and Transition and in collections such as Land Without Thunder (1968), The Other Woman (1976), and The Island of Tears (1980)—give an inside view of traditional Luo life and society and the conflict of traditional with ... (100 of 257 words).


Born in Kenya's Central Nyanza district in 1930, Grace Ogot trained as a nurse, both in Uganda and England. She has worked as a midwife, tutor and journalist, as a broadcaster with the BBC Overseas Service, and in a managerial capacity for the Air India Corporation of East Africa. In addition Ogot has held various Ambassadorial posts, representing her country at the United Nations and UNESCO. Ogot was a founding member of the Writers' Association of Kenya. She can be credited with being the first African woman writer in English to be published with two short stories in 1962 and 1964. Her first novel The Promised Land (1966) was published in the same year as Flora Nwapa's Efuru and deals with the subject of migration. Her second novel, The Graduate (1980) relates the story of a male protagonist who, after studying in America, returns to Kenya. The novel also offers a comment on Kenyan women's inequality in the political process and intimates how successful they can be when given the opportunity to participate. Ogot has also published three volumes of short stories, as well as a number of works in Dholuo. Her attitude towards language is similar to that of her fellow Kenyan, Ngugi wa Thiong'o's, but until recently her writing has not received the critical appraisal bestowed on Ngugi's writings. Other works by Grace Ogot include: The Island of Tears ((1980) and Land Without Thunder (1968).



Aloo kod Apul-Apul (1981) in Luo.
Ber wat (1981) in Luo.
The graduate (1980)
The island of tears (1980)
Land without thunder; short stories (1968)
Miaha (1983) in Luo; translated as The strange bride by Okoth Okombo (1989) ISBN 996646865X
The other woman: selected short stories (1976)
The Promised Land: a novel (1966)
The strange bride translated from Dholuo by Okoth Okombo.

Last update : 04/07/2011

Update this page

Name :
Advanced research

Art Business Fashion Finance Literature Media Music Politics Professionals Science Social Sport
African Success © African Success 2007/2019 - credits - sitemap - contact us RSS African Success on Twitter
Le Club
Log in:

Forgotten passwordRegister at Le Club
New biographies of African personalitiesRSS

This slideshow requires Adobe Flash Player 9.0 (or higher). JavaScript must be enabled.